Prof. Geeta Ramana's Memorial Research Scholar's Forum, University of Mumbai in Association with Forum for Philosophy & IOE, HSS Department Indian Institute of Technology Bombay Organizing a

NATIONAL CONFERENCE on AGENCY and VALUE 3-4 June 2024

(Venue: Seminar Room, HSS Dept, IIT Bombay)

Day 1 (June 3, 2024)

Session I: (10.30 AM to 1.00 PM)

| 10.30 AM. | Welcome Note |
|-----------|---|
| | Prof. Archana Malik-Goure, Convener |
| | Dept. of Philosophy, University of Mumbai |
| | Introduction of Theme Note |
| | Prof. Ranjan Panda, Convener, |
| | IIT, Bombay |

10.45 AM to 12.55 PM

| Chairperson: | Professor C. D. Sebastian |
|-------------------|---|
| Invited speakers: | Prof. R.C. Pradhan |
| | Former Professor of Philosophy, University of Hyderabad |
| | Topic: Agency, Value, and Transcendence |

Prof. Anirban Mukherjee Professor, Department of Philosophy, University of North Bengal Topic: *Finding Agency in the Middle of Extremes: Buddhism, Politics and Life*

12.55 pm Vote of Thanks

1.00 PM to 2. 00 PM Lunch Break

| Session II (2.00 PM - 3.00 PM) | | |
|--------------------------------|--------------------------------|--|
| Chairperson: | Prof. Ranjan Panda, IIT Bombay | |

Invited Speakers: Prof. C.D. Sebastian, IIT Bombay Topic: Emotion and Action: A Buddhist Perspective

Session III (3.00 PM to 5.00 PM)

Chairperson: Dr. **Bhaskarjit Neog, JNU New Delhi** Paper Presenters

1. Joshua Fernandes

- 2. Abhinav Kumar (Online)
- 3. Nabanita Das
- 4. Subham Saha (Online)
- 5. Prateek Chaubey

Felicitation for Best Paper Award and Vote of Thanks

Day II (4th June 2024)Session III: (10.30 AM to 12.00 PM)Chairperson:Professor R. C. PradhanInvited Speakers:Dr. Bhaskarjit Neog, JNU New DelhiTopic: Joint Action and Moral Responsibility

Dr. Sinhdu Poudyal, Tripura University Topic: Philosophy of Action, Agency and Normativity in *Bhagavad*-*Gītā* and *Rāmacaritamānas*

Tea Break (12.00 PM to 12.10 PM)

Session IV (12.10 PM to 1.00 PM) Chair Person: Professor Siby George Dr. Sreelakshmi Peddada, University of Mumbai Dr. Jivitesh Patil, University of Mumbai

Lunch Break 1.00 PM to 2.15 PM.

Parallel Session V (2. 15 PM to 4.00 PM) Class Room 130C Chair Person: Professor Rajakishore Nath

Dr. Sudhindra Maghanhalli, RV University, Bangalore Dr. Sreetama Mishra and Ms Shivansi Trivedi Ms Dalorina Nath Gayatri Mendanha

Parallel Session V (2. 15 PM to 4. 20 PM) Seminar Room Chair Person: Professor Anirban Mukherjee

Dr. Ankita Priya Singh Dhanashree Vhatkar Mrittika Chatterjee Sidhant Khamkar

Valedictory Session & Vote of Thanks (4.20 PM to 4.30 PM) Seminar Room